Rift between RJD and Congress over Kusheswar Asthan assembly seat | Patna News

PATNA: The RJD and Congress have once again locked horns over the Kusheshwar Asthan (SC) assembly seat where byelection will be held on October 30.
The Election Commission on Tuesday announced bypolls in Kusheshwar Asthan and Tarapur assembly constituencies following the death of JD(U) MLAs Shashi Bhushan Hazari and Mewalal Choudhary. From the opposition Mahagathbandhan, RJD had contested the Tarapur seat and Congress had fielded its candidate from Kusheshwar Asthan.
RJD’s Maner MLA and spokesperson Bhai Birendra said his party will contest both the seats this time. Senior RJD leader Bhola Yadav, who is also a close aide of party chief Lalu Prasad, backed Birendra statement.
Bhola said the RJD workers had been working extensively in both the constituencies and his party would win them for sure. “Though Congress had got Kusheshwar Asthan during seat distribution, it has been always losing this seat. They should understand the importance of the bypoll as it will lead to change of government in the state,” he told TOI.
Another RJD leader said after winning the two seats, either HAM(S) or VIP can change the arithmetic in Bihar assembly. “Both are frequent flyers,” he added.
However, Congress is in no mood to relent. Congress Legislative Party leader Ajit Sharma said the distribution of seats had already been done last year and raising such issues was useless. “Our candidate Ashok Kumar is a Dalit face and lost by a margin of just around 7,000 votes. This is very much our seat and we will field our candidate. As far as the RJD is concerned, even their candidate had lost Tarapur, but we are not claiming that seat,” Sharma said.
When asked what will happen if RJD does not let Congress contest the Kusheshwar Asthan seat, Sharma replied, “What is the meaning of alliance then. Also, RJD cannot take the final decision on our seats. Our party president Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi will take the final call.”
Meanwhile, Darbhanga DM Thyagrajan SM on Tuesday said the notification for the Kusheshwar Asthan bypoll will be issued on October 1 and the nomination process will begin the same day. Polling will take place on October 30 on 264 booths. Counting of votes will take place on November 2, he said. There are 2,54,999 voters in the constituency, including 1,34,072 males and 1,20,96 females.
(With inputs from B K Jha in Darbhanga)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *