Kanpur: Two more arrested for massacre of Sikhs at Nirala Nagar in 1984 riots | Kanpur News

The raids which started late on Monday night continued till 2am on Tuesday.

KANPUR: In a joint operation, the Special Investigation Team (SIT), Kanpur Commissionerate of Police and Kanpur Outer Police, arrested two more accused of Nirala Nagar massacre during the 1984 anti-Sikh riots.
The total number of accused arrested so far has gone up to six now. DIG SIT Balendu Bhushan Singh told TOI on Tuesday, “We have arrested Amar Singh (61) alias Bhura and one Mobeen (60) from Mohalla Takia Jawahar nagar in Ghatampur area in a raid on late Monday night.”
Earlier, on June 15, four accused in the Nirala Nagar massacre, namely, Yogendra Singh, Vijay Narayan Singh, Shafiullah and Abdul Rehman, were arrested by SIT. The biggest catch Raghavendra Kushwaha, nephew of Shivnath Singh Kushwaha, who was minister of state in the Congress government, is, however, yet to be arrested.
The raids which started late Monday night continued till 2am on Tuesday.
One accused surrendered before the police team as soon as the sleuths started conducting raids in Ghatampur, said officials.
In 1984, Bhupendra Singh and Rakshpal Singh were burnt alive in Nirala Nagar, while Satveer Singh, son of Sardar Gurudayal Singh, was shot dead.
After the formation of SIT in 2019, 31 accused were identified in the case out of which four accused Shafilah, Yogendra Singh, Vijay Narayan Singh and Abdul Rehman were arrested and sent to jail.
The SIT has completed the investigation of 11 cases and identified 96 accused among whom 22 have died.
A total of 127 Sikhs were killed in the riots in the aftermath of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s assassination by her security personnel.
Nearly, 40 cases of murder, robbery and dacoity were registered, in which 29 were closed by police with submission of final report.
When the state government constituted an SIT for investigation, 29 cases were investigated again and the SIT got evidence in 14 cases.
The SIT was set up on May 27, 2019, after the Supreme Court issued notice to the state government in August 2017 on a petition seeking SIT probe.
The four-member SIT is headed by retired UP DGP Atul. The other members are retired district judge Subhash Chandra Agarwal and retired additional director (prosecution) Yogeshwar Krishna Srivastava. SP Balendu Bhushan Singh is its member-secretary.


FacebookTwitterInstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE

Source link

Leave a Reply