congress: Cong Declares Five Candidates In First List | Kanpur News

Kanpur: The Congress has announced names of five candidates from city in its first list released on Thursday. There are a total 10 assembly segments in Kanpur. The Congress state unit is yet to announce the candidate names on five remaining assembly seats.
Ajay Kapoor will be the Congress candidate from Kidwai Nagar assembly segment.
Ticket has been given to former minister Shriprakash Jaiswal’s brother Pramod Jaiswal from Aryanagar.
Similarly, Usha Rani Kori’s name was also included in the first list and she will contest from Bilhaur.
Ticket has also been given to youth Congress party leader Kanishk Pandey from Maharajpur. MLA Sohail Ansari has been made a candidate from the Cantt Assembly.
Ajay Kapoor, the senior most leader of Congress, is going to contest the assembly elections for the 7th consecutive time. In the past, he has been an MLA for three consecutive terms from 2002 to 2017. In 2002, he entered the Legislative Assembly for the first time by defeating BJP’s minister of state Balachandra Mishra.
Kapoor had also lost the assembly elections twice. He started his political career from Municipal Corporation elections. In 2007 assembly polls, he had defeated Hanuman Mishra of BJP. In the year 2012, BJP candidate Viveksheel Shukla was defeated by Kapoor. In 2017, Ajay after a long spell of his political career, was defeated by Mahesh Trivedi of BJP.
Congress’ sitting MLA Sohail Ansari is once again in the fray. In the 2017 assembly elections, Sohail contested the first assembly election from the Congress-SP alliance and won. He got the direct benefit due to the good populace of Muslim voters in the Cantt Assembly.
State president of Youth Congress East, Kanishk Pandey has been made a candidate from Maharajpur, a stronghold of BJP. Kanishk has been active in Congress for a long time.
Pramod Jaiswal, younger brother of former cabinet minister and senior Congress leader Shriprakash Jaiswal is going to try his luck from Aryanagar assembly.
Usha Rani Kori has been made candidate from Bilhaur, the reserved assembly seat of the district. The only woman among the five declared candidates, she has had a long political career in the Congress. She had earlier contested the Zila Panchayat elections. She has also been the president of Kanpur Rural and has been active in the Bilhaur assembly for a long time.

Source link

Leave a Reply