Bihar: NDA names candidates for Kusheshwar Asthan and Tarapur seats | Patna News

PATNA: Aman Bhushan Hajari and Rajiv Kumar Singh of JD(U) would be the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidates in the byelection for Kusheshwar Asthan (Darbhanga) and Tarapur (Munger) assembly seats, respectively. The byelection is scheduled to be held on October 30.
BJP state president and MP Sanjay Kumar Jaiswal announced their candidatures at a joint press conference of NDA leaders in the state capital on Friday. Besides BJP and JD(U), former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) of Mukesh Sahani are the two other NDA constituents in Bihar.
The byelection in Kusheshwar Asthan and Tarapur assembly seats was necessitated following the death of JD(U) MLAs Shashi Bhushan Hajari and Mewalal Choudhari, respectively.
“We have fielded Aman Bhushan, the son of three-time former MLA Shashi Bhushan Hazari, from Kusheshwar Asthan. We wanted to field Mewalal’s son in Tarapur, but he expressed his inability to contest the byelection because he lives in the USA. Therefore, we have fielded Rajiv, who has been associated with us since the Samata Party days,” JD(U) national president Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh said.
“Rajiv is a well-known leader in Tarapur since the days of formation of the erstwhile Samata Party, which later merged into the JD(U) in 2003. Rajiv had earlier contested the assembly polls from Tarapur — once as the Samata Party candidate and twice on the JD(U) ticket. But Rajiv lost all the three elections to RJD’s then candidate Shakuni Choudhary, who had won the Tarapur seat for record six times from 1985 to 2010,” a senior JD(U) leader told TOI.
VIP president Sahani, HAM-S national general secretary Santosh Kumar Suman and panchayati raj minister Samrat Choudhary, who hails from Tarapur area, also addressed the joint press conference and claimed victory of both the NDA candidates. Samrat is the son of former minister Shakuni Choudhary.
Other prominent leaders who were present at the press conference included senior BJP leader and deputy CM Tarkishore Prasad, JD(U)’s parliamentary board chairman Upendra Kushwaha, education minister Vijay Kumar Choudhary and building construction minister Ashok Choudhary.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *